Book Revision and WAND Part II

Our poor blog – it’s been months since the last post. I doubt many people will read what I’m writing now, but I’ll share two updates anyway:

First, I received some fellowship money from my graduate school program to expand and revise The Walk Across North Dakota this summer. (Now that I think of it, I don’t think I ever posted that I completed the book – at least the first version of it – in January.) I will be reading significant works of travel literature (such as Blue Highways: A Journey into America by William Least Heat-Moon and Henry David Thoreau’s essay “A Walk to Wachusett”), doing other research, and then drafting and revising new content. I may also solicit content from other people connected to the project.

The book cover, designed by Katie Falkenberg.

Second, the walk across the eastern half of North Dakota is tentatively set for the summer of 2013. I really want to make this happen, and I think it can. I’m not sure how many of our original crew will be able to join me, but my desire to walk across the entire state is growing increasingly strong. So it may be that I’ll expand and revise the book again in the future. Hey, I’m game.

About Gwen

Gwen is a Moorhead-based editor, writer, and musician. She owns Content & Contour, LLC (www.contentandcontour.com). She loves weightlifting, reading novels, meeting new people, and spending time with her family and friends. She also blogs about fitness at http://little-mouse-blog.blogspot.com/. View all posts by Gwen

One response to “Book Revision and WAND Part II

  • Donn Larson

    Good plan, Gwen. Blue Highways is a fine book. I’m not familiar with the other. Do you know the folks who walked around Lake Superior last summer, Kate Crowley and (I forgot his name) husband. I just sent you their site. I’ll stand by to help as you might need.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

