Feeling the Love

I’m supposed to be preparing a post on my goals for the ND Walk (which I am, sporadically), but I want to take the time to say how excited I am to spend two and a half weeks in the company of Jeremy, Richard, and Tyler! I’ve known Richard since he was born (he’s my baby brother…never mind that he’s now half a foot taller than me), and I’ve known Jeremy for about four years now. Tyler, I might as well recklessly confess here and now that my friend and I had a crush on you when we were in seventh grade and you were in eighth grade. Of course, we had several crushes at any given time, so you were one of many. I didn’t really know you then and I know you the least of the Walk participants now, but I’ve enjoyed becoming acquainted with you over the past few months.

(L-R) Richard, Tyler, Gwen and Jeremy. Photo from hikingtrip.org.

 

Annnnyway, the planning we have done so far for the Walk, whether by email, Skype, or in person, has reinforced my enthusiasm for spending time with these three gentlemen this summer (with the possible addition of Bold brother Eric). They are all intelligent, articulate, hilarious, compassionate, and fun. (And I am all about fun.) We haven’t met too many obstacles yet in our preparation, but there is no doubt there will be obstacles in both preparation and execution. Minor and major ones. Meanwhile, we’ve been able to energetically yet rationally tackle the challenges we have already encountered.

I have every reason to believe that walking 150+ miles across western North Dakota will be not only bearable, but incredible, with these people as my companions. And I would be remiss if I failed to mention, as you can see by the photo above, that we’ll make a ridiculously good-looking crew to boot.

About Gwen

Gwen is a Moorhead-based editor, writer, and musician. She owns Content & Contour, LLC (www.contentandcontour.com) and teaches french horn at North Dakota State University. She loves weightlifting, reading novels, spending time with her family and friends, and being a board member of the Moorhead Business Association. View all posts by Gwen

One response to “Feeling the Love

Leave a Reply

