Trail Vs. Mall

Thanks to plenty of crappy weather lately, and my procrastination in buying a proper rain jacket, I’ve had to take some of my practice walks in everyone’s beloved gathering place, the mall. Not my favorite thing, but not wholly terrible either. Here, a comparison of my mall experiences and my trail experiences:

Trail: Creepy-looking but probably benign culverts

Mall: Creepy-looking but probably benign lurkers

**************

Trail: A muskrat swimming in a pond

Mall: An environment swimming with marketing ploys

**************

Trail: Nearly bare tree branches with the first buds of spring just appearing

Mall: Huge pictures of nearly naked Abercrombie and Fitch models

**************

Trail: A biker I don’t know giving me a high-five

Mall: A custodian I don’t know giving me a friendly greeting

**************

Trail: A deer eating grass

Mall: People eating enormous cinnamon rolls that I want to grab out of their hands and devour because I’ve been walking for two and a half hours now

**************

Trail: Pitch-black crows

Mall: Prom dresses in every color of the rainbow, and then some, and then still more, and I want to hang out with the girl cuckoo enough to wear that dress

**************

Trail: So much natural beauty worth protecting

Mall: So much pointless merchandise worth rejecting

**************

And on that sanctimonious note, I wish you good walking of your own, wherever it takes place.

About Gwen

Gwen is a Moorhead-based editor, writer, and musician. She owns Content & Contour, LLC (www.contentandcontour.com) and teaches french horn at North Dakota State University. She loves weightlifting, reading novels, spending time with her family and friends, and being a board member of the Moorhead Business Association. View all posts by Gwen

Leave a Reply

